Twelve faculty members elected AAAS fellows



AAAS Advancing Science, Serving Society

Twelve Cornell and Weill Cornell Medicine faculty members – six of whom are also Cornell alumni – have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society.

The association elected 506 new fellows in 2022, honoring their efforts to advance research and its applications in scientifically or socially distinguished ways. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a rosette pin of gold and blue, representing science and engineering, respectively.

The AAAS will organize an in-person gathering in Washington, D.C., in the spring to celebrate the newest fellows.

Cornell’s 2022 AAAS include:

Lena Kourkoutis, M.S. ’06, Ph.D. ’09, associate professor in the School of Applied and Engineering Physics (ENG), was honored for distinguished contributions to the field of condensed matter physics, particularly for the development of new electron microscopy techniques. Her research group focuses on understanding and controlling nanostructured materials, from quantum materials to materials for energy to biomaterials. They have developed new cryogenic microscopy techniques to gain access to low temperature electronic states and to study processes at liquid/solid interfaces in energy devices.

Lois Pollack, the John Edson Sweet Professor of Engineering in the School of Applied Engineering and Physics (ENG), was honored for distinguished contributions to the field of biophysics, particularly for the development of new techniques to study time-resolved behavior of biological molecules. Pollack’s research focuses both on the development of experimental tools that enable novel, time-resolved studies of proteins, DNA or RNA, and on electrostatic interactions in RNA and DNA.

Read the full article in the Cornell Chronicle.

More news

View all news
Lena Kourkoutis