Three professors elected as APS fellows

Three professors in the Department of Physics in the College of Arts and Sciences have been elected fellows of the American Physical Society (APS): Kyle Shen, Kin Fai Mak and Lawrence Gibbons.

The APS Fellowship Program recognizes members who have made exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise in physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education. APS fellowship is limited to no more than 0.5% of all APS members in a given year. 

Shen, James A. Weeks Professor of Physical Sciences, director of the Laboratory of Atomic and Solid State Physics and Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellow, was cited for angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy studies of quantum materials and for pioneering the investigation of thin films grown by molecular-beam epitaxy, enabling studies of new systems including heterostructures, materials under epitaxial strain and atomically thin materials.

Mak, associate professor of physics, was cited for the discovery of new electronic properties and phases of matter in 2D materials and their heterostructures.  

Gibbons, professor of physics, was cited for critical and creative contributions to data analysis, online and offline software and innovative instrumentation design and implementation for executing precision measurements in flavor physics, particularly CKM matrix elements, and the muon anomalous magnetic moment.

Jonathan Mong '25 is a communications assistant in the College of Arts and Sciences.

More news